The University Research Ethics Committee (UREC) Terms of Reference include approval of proposals for research which comes under the Terms of Reference to follow. UREC have delegated the review of such proposals to Faculty Research Ethics Committees (FRECs), such as the AREA FREC, to consider approval for proposals that include research with significant ethical dimensions, in particular research involving human participants or their data, or significant negative environmental impact. 

AREA is a cross-faculty ethics committee reviewing applications from ESSL, Environment and LUBS. A number of faculty representatives sit on the committee as well as a lay member.  

Introduction to the AREA FREC


    Chair: Dr Kahyryn Hughes, School of Sociology and Social Policy 
    Deputy Chair: Dr Matthew Davis, Management Division, LUBS

    Faculty representatives:

    Education, Social Science & Law

    Dr Mary Chambers, School of Education
    Dr Lou Harvey, School of Education (from January 2017) 
    Dr Michael Inglis, School of Education (from September 2017)
    Dr Aisha Walker, School of Education
    Dr Michael Wilson, School of Education 
    Dr Beverley Clough, School of Law 
    Vacancy, School of Law 
    Dr Charlie Dannreuther, School of Politics and International Studies
    Dr Victoria Honeyman, School of Politics and International Studies (until January 2017)
    Vacancies, School of Sociology and Social Policy
    Dr Sharon Elley, School of Sociology and Social Policy 
    Dr Andrew Wallace, School of Sociology and Social Policy 
    Vacancy, Centre for Disability Studies representative


    Dr Anna McLauchlan, School of Geography 
    Dr Nick Malleson, School of Geography
    Andy Turner, School of Geography 
    Vacancy, School of Earth and Environment 
    Prof Paul Glover, School of Earth and Environment 
    Dr Lucie Middlemiss, Sustainability Research Institute 
    Dr Stephen Whitfield, School of Earth and Environment 
    Mr Bryan Matthews, Institute of Transport Studies 
    Prof Simon Shepherd, Institute of Transport Studies (from June 2017)
    Dr Caroline Mullen, Institute of Transport Studies

    Leeds University Business School

    Dr Matthew Davis, Management Division 
    Dr Desmond Leach, Management Division 
    Dr Andrew Mearman, Economics Division (from December 2016)
    Dr Hinrich Voss, International Business Division

    Additional members

    Revd Matt Ward, Universities' Chaplaincy in Leeds
    Mandip Cheema, lay member (from January 2017)
    Vacancies for lay members 
    Dr Alice Temple, Research Ethics Senior Training and Development Officer, ODPL/ IDEA CETL

    Vacancies for lay members

    Student representatives

    Vacancy, ESSL
    Vacancy, LUBS
    Megan Waugh, School of Geography 

    Review process

    Most applications are reviewed by email by at least two members of the FREC. Once your complete application is received you'll receive an email from the administrator confirming receipt and giving you an ethics reference number (eg AREA 14-567). You should allow six weeks for the review to take place. The initial review usually takes place within 2-3 weeks, and once this has happened you'll receive a letter from the administrator detailing the outcome of the review. You may be asked to clarify certain aspects of your application or to make some changes (this is called a Provisional Opinion) or your application may be approved without you having to make any changes (a Favourable Opinion). In very rare cases an application may be given an Unfavourable Opinion, if this happens the FREC will explain in the letter why that decision was made and they will offer to discuss options for changing your research project with you.

    10 top tips for reviewing ethics applications

    Passport stamps